About Us

Established in 1993, FACE is a UK-wide network for those involved and concerned with access, continuing education and lifelong learning. As a multi-sector network, FACE and its members are at a the forefront of the challenges involved in providing lifelong learning opportunities. One important role for FACE is to facilitate the exchange and dissemination of information and practices in Lifelong Learning and Continuing Education. By promoting collaboration and innovation between providers and practitioners FACE aims to support and encourage a socially inclusive framework for Lifelong Learning, challenging exclusion and fostering full participation. As a large multi-sector network we play a key role as a pressure group, service provider, staff development forum, national policy shaper, information service, event organiser.

We are also proud to partner with the following organisations:

  • EUCEN (European University Continuation Education Network)
  • Eurydice
  • Include (Swedish national WP network)
  • NADE (National Association for Developmental Education)

 

Below you will find details of our Executive Group Leadership as well as current Executive Members.

Check out the Executive News Page for updates on future meetings and our annual reports from the Chair. 

FACE Executive

Professor John Storan

Chair FACE

Professor John Storan

FACE Chair | Director – Continuum: Centre for Widening Participation Policy Studies | University of East London j.storan@uel.ac.uk | +44 (0)20 8223 2643

Ross Renton

Vice-Chair FACE

Ross Renton

FACE Vice-Chair |Principal | ARU Peterborough | ross.renton@aru.ac.uk | +44 (0) 1245 683124 | @ross_renton

Deirdre Lynskey

Vice-Chair FACE

Deirdre Lynskey

FACE Vice-Chair | Student Development Manager, Careers Employability and Skills | Queen’s University Belfast | d.lynskey@qub.ac.uk | @lynskeyd

Michael Hill

FACE Secretary

Michael Hill

FACE Secretary | Educational Consultant | michaelhill1000@gmail.com | secretary@face.ac.uk | @curtiscounce78

Andrew Rawson

FACE Treasurer

Andrew Rawson

FACE Treasurer | Principal | Action on Access | a.rawson@actiononaccess.org | treasurer@face.ac.uk | +44 (0)75 4185 0937 | @actiononaccess

Robin Webber-Jones

Executive Member

Robin Webber-Jones

Executive Member | Vice Principal HE and Academic Studies | The Sheffield College | Robin.Webber-Jones@sheffcol.ac.uk | 07899952241

Emily Archer

Executive Member

Emily Archer

Executive Member | Widening Access Manager | Brunel University London | emily.archer@brunel.ac.uk | +44 (0)1895 266880

Dr John Butcher

Executive Member

Dr John Butcher

Executive Member | Director, Access and Open | WELS/PVC Students | Open University | john.butcher@open.ac.uk | +44 (0) 1908 654055

Marva de la Coudray

Executive Member

Marva de la Coudray

Executive Member | Head of Widening Participation | School of Oriental and Asian Studies | University of London | mc68@soas.ac.uk | +44 (0)20 7898 4552

Dr Stéphane Farenga

Executive Member

Dr Stéphane Farenga

Executive Member | Deputy Head Widening Access & Student Success | University of Hertfordshire | s.farenga@herts.ac.uk | +44 (0)17 0728 6442 | @HotDogFrog

Laura Johnstone

Executive Member

Laura Johnstone

Executive Member | National Manager for Scotland - The Scholars Programme | The Brilliant Club | laura.johnstone@thebrilliantclub.org | 07398 182 526 | @laura_jo321

Ann-Marie Karadia

Executive Member

Ann-Marie Karadia

Executive Member | Access Officer | QAA | a.karadia@qaa.ac.uk | 01452 557118 | @amk254

Dr Stephanie Mckendry

Executive Member

Dr Stephanie Mckendry

Executive Member | Widening Access Manager | University of Strathclyde | stephanie.mckendry@strath.ac.uk | +44 (0)14 1548 2208

Professor Mark O'Hara

Executive Member

Professor Mark O'Hara

Executive Member | Associate Dean - Student Learning Experience & Quality | Birmingham City University | mark.o’hara@bcu.ac.uk | 07964 921429

Professor Michael Osborne

Executive Member

Professor Michael Osborne

Executive Member | Professor of Adult and Lifelong Learning and Director of Research | University of Glasgow | Michael.Osborne@glasgow.ac.uk | +44 141 330 3414

Jackie Powell

Executive Member

Jackie Powell

Executive Member | jackiepowell123@gmail.com | @HEPP_Jackie

Dr Neil Raven

Executive Member

Dr Neil Raven

Executive Member | Educational Consultant | neil.d.raven@gmail.com | http://www.neilraven.co.uk/page2.html

Dr Bernadette Sanderson

Executive Member

Dr Bernadette Sanderson

Executive Member | Director, FOCUS West Programme | University of Strathclyde | 0141 574 5365

David Sims

Executive Member

David Sims

Executive Member | Research Director | National Foundation for Educational Research | d.sims@nfer.ac.uk | +44 (0)1753 637216

Jenni Woods

Executive Member

Jenni Woods

Executive Member | Associate Director – Widening Participation | Kingston University | j.woods@kingston.ac.uk | +44 (0)20 8417 3031

Dr Steve Wyn Williams

Executive Member

Dr Steve Wyn Williams

Executive Member | Dean of Academic Policy and Development Staffordshire University | s.w.williams@staffs.ac.uk | +44 (0) 17 8535 3787 | @stephenwyn